New here? Sign Up Have an account?

Whidbey Island Girl

Hi ~ my name is karen and I live on an island north of Seattle. I have had Multiple Sclerosis for 25+ years(don't understand why that was not listed under the list of health conditions/disabilities?) and am having a hard time meeting people who understand the challenges of a disability, without realizing that I am still a person whose mobility might be compromised, but my brain and sense of humor is NOT. Although I can no longer ski (ha!) there are so many other things that I CAN do! (If you are on this website, I assume that you understand that statement well!) Currently looking for a friend/companion but am open to a future should it develop. I am financially secure, but certainly not rich! I like to read, watch some tv, listen to music, and road trip! If you have similar interests, drop me a line and maybe we will become friends.

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Join Free Now

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
National heritagePolish
BuildA few extra pounds
Height5' 6" (168 cm)
Eye ColorBlue
Hair ColorBrown
Hair LengthShort
Best featureSmile
Body ArtPierced... but only ear(s), Strategically placed tattoo
Health ConditionDisabled
My AttractivenessAverage

Situation

Relationship StatusDivorced
Has childrenChildren don't live with me
Wants kidsNo
Housing SituationAll is calm
Wants to RelocateMaybe
Has a carYes

Education & Employment

EducationCollege Associates
SpecialtyHospitality / Travel
Employment StatusRetired
Annual income$25,000 - $50,000
Job Titleretired from Delta Airlines ~ now legally disabled

Leisure & Fun

TV preferencesNews, Dramas, Situation comedies, Instructional, Movies, Sports, Reality shows, Re-runs
Favorite TV showsCNN, The Today Show, Steve Wilkos Show (used to be a social worker ~ I find this show fascinating), Storage Wars, 2 Broke Girls, Big Bang Theory, Cops, local news, Anderson Cooper
Favorite movies typesComedy, Romance, Drama
Favorite moviesMy daughter is 18, so for years I watched G & PG movies...but my favorite movie of all time is "Sleepless in Seattle" and anything with Meg Ryan in it.
Music typesCountry, Rock, Jazz, New age
Favorite artistsMy age is showing, but I like Oldies (60's), Adele, Norah Jones, Beatles, Bruno Mars, George Winston, most Hawaiian music
Reading selectionFiction, Health, Home & Garden
Favorite booksAnything by Og Mandino (very inspirational), books by Debbie Macomber...I've read so many books, I can't think of my favorites!
Idea of funGoing on road trips! Eating a good meal, reading, watching tv or a movie in the comfort of home, watching football on tv (Seahawks, Wolverines, Ducks)...almost any football!
Hanging out with my daughter...
HobbiesArts & Crafts, Reading, Learning, Music, TV, Dining, Religion, spirituality, Travel, Playing cards, Volunteering

Personality

SmokerDon't smoke
DrinkingLight / social drinker
Social behaviorFriendly
Friends describe asFriendly
In High School I was a(n)Average Joe
Sense of humorFriendly
My great timeHanging out with friends, Staying at home, Relaxing, Sleeping, Reading a book, Going to a casino, TV
Always wanted to trya cruise to europe...

Views

Political viewsLiberal
ReligionChristian
Attend religious servicesOnce a month
Goal in lifeTo get as much out of life as I can, under the circumstances. Multiple Sclerosis can be exhausting and that can frustrate my friends when I don't have energy. I WISH I had energy, but sometimes I just don't.

Looking For

Must haveIntelligence, Humor, Empathy, Sensitivity, Spontaneity, Wit, Thoughtfullness
Look for in a partnerPatience, understanding, HONESTY ~ please don't say one thing if you mean another!
friendship, good conversation...belief in a Christian God.
On the first datemeet for dinner somewhere and get to know each other